Looking to move to Georgia? That’s just peachy! Whether you’re a first-time homebuyer or not, while the process at times may seem like a hassle, purchasing a home is an exciting time. As there are several programs that can help you become a homeowner, one of the most popular programs in Georgia is the Georgia Dream program.  

In this post, we will dive in and explore what key details are associated with the Georgia Dream program.

What is the Georgia Dream Program?

The Georgia Dream program was established by the Georgia Department of Community Affairs (DCA). Through the help of nominal financing options, homebuyer education, and down payment assistance, this program aims to help those with low-to-moderate income become homeowners. The DCA enables lenders to provide affordable mortgages to eligible borrowers. 

What are the Benefits of the Georgia Dream Program?

For those who are eligible, the Georgia Dream Program offers a variety of benefits that borrowers can take advantage of. 

  • Low-interest rates
  • Generally quick closing process
  • Down payment assistance

Who’s Eligible to Apply for the Georgia Dream Program?

In order to qualify for the Georgia Dream program, there is certain criteria you have to fall under. If you’re a first-time homebuyer, a homebuyer who hasn’t had interest or ownership in a primary residence in the last three years, or you’re someone who’s purchased a home in a within one of these regions, then you may be qualified. 

Before we dive deep into the specifics, here’s a general list of what you need to qualify: 

  • A minimum credit score of at least 640
  • Liquid assets lower than 20% of the home’s price
  • Homebuyer education class must be completed

As a first-time homebuyer, the maximum household income for 1-2 people is different in comparison to the maximum household income for 3+ people. In addition, the purchase price can not exceed a set limit. It’s important to note that these limits are only applied if you’re looking to purchase a home in one of the following counties: (Barrow, Bartow, Carroll, Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, Dawson, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Heard, Henry, Jasper, Newton, Paulding, Pickens, Pike, Rockdale, Spalding or Walton).

If you’re looking to purchase a home not located in one of the counties listed, then the maximum household income will differ. 

If you’re a homebuyer who hasn’t owned a home in the last three years, there a few stipulations you have to qualify for but you still have the ability to receive a loan. Lastly, if you purchase a home in a certain area and you also meet mortgage loan credit requirements then you are also a candidate for the Georgia dream home program. 

How to Apply for the Georgia Dream Program?

For starters, it’s important to know that you do not apply for this loan directly to the DCA. Across the state of Georgia, participating lenders are the ones who will assist you with the Georgia Dream program. They will handle your application and process all of the information that is required for the Georgia Dream program.

For more on the Georgia Dream program, feel free to contact one of our GA licensed Loan officers.

The included content is intended for informational purposes only and should not be relied upon as professional advice. Additional terms and conditions apply. Not all applicants will qualify. Consult with a finance professional for tax advice or a mortgage professional to address your mortgage questions or concerns. THIS PRODUCT OR SERVICE HAS NOT BEEN APPROVED OR ENDORSED BY ANY GOVERNMENTAL AGENCY, AND THIS OFFER IS NOT BEING MADE BY AN AGENCY OF THE GOVERNMENT. This is an advertisement. Prepared 2/3/2020